Engaged.


DSC_0147

“Let’s take a day,” He said

“Yesterday was rough.

Let’s get lost in the woods.”

DSC_0118

“Where are we going?” I asked

“Places,” He told me

And places we went

DSC_0148

Led by orange dots in the forest

To the wrong end of trails

Wrapped in green, plaid, and flower crowns

We journeyed

Each beside our closest friend

Practicing redemption as we walked

DSC_0123

“Where are we going?” I asked

“We’re going to this bridge,” He said

An overcast sky domed above our heads

A lake stretched beneath our feet

For us to just stop and stare

And guess what clouds are supposed to be

DSC_0141

“Where are we going?” I asked

“Wherever it is, I’ll be there with you,”

“I’ll walk with you,” He said

“And, Papa, walk with us,”

He prayed with a breath

DSC_0153

“I love you more than anything,” He said

“So, my dearest, marry me?”

“Absolutely,” I said

DSC_0129

“Where are you going?”

You ask.

“And how will you get there?”

“How long will it take?”

DSC_0151

“We’re going places,” We tell you

Together we’ll get there

On a journey that lasts forever

DSC_0135

