Happy Birthday, Princess!


To my friend (on her actual birthday): I couldn’t choose just one picture to celebrate the wonderful multifaceted person you are, so here’s a bunch, and some ramblings to try to communicate the fact that the day you were born is a day worth celebrating… because it definitely is
DSC_0375
You’re the only person I know that would pose with a Welsh dictionary in a random bookstore, and later the same day, buy classic Italian literature to brush up on your Italian. You’re one of the smartest, most driven people I’ve ever met.
DSC_0137
You’re the only person I know that would decide I need songs as my Christmas present, which, if you think about it, is a wonderfully practical gift because a song takes up no space in a suitcase, and it folds well into your mind.
DSC_1313
You’re the only person I know that dances gleefully in a dressing room, or my kitchen, or generally any place music is playing just because you love to dance. Your grace and love of life are inspiring to me.
DSC_0536
You’re the only person I know that could laugh ironically with me about the possibility of our having Malaria (because really, what else could go wrong?) You’re always ready to laugh in the face of danger because you would rather enjoy life than fear it.
DSC_0060
You’re the only person I know that can speak excruciatingly hard truths with the gentleness, embrace, and warmth of light blue Turkish cotton sheets.
DSC_0902
You’re the only person I know that is unapologetically kind and caring to every person you meet, no matter what they look like, or how old they are. Regardless of how you feel, or how people feel about you, you always try to find a way to communicate with even the toughest cases.
DSC_0069
You’re the only person I’ve known to fall deeply in love with an entire country, and their way of life before even visiting. Visiting just filled you with more wonder and deepened your affection for 1.3 billion people who need the love of Jesus.
DSC_0012
You glow so brightly with the love of Jesus, and love for everyone around you.
DSC_1214
You’re a spectacular sister,
DSC_0065
A gifted encourager,
14326_313065965555957_4781008170388071453_n
And an amazing best friend.
DSC_0395
Thank you for walking with me through thick and thin and for always being gently honest with me. You are a blessing to my life, and today I celebrate the simple fact you exist.
